top of page

Reiki - The Path to Becoming a Healer

Have you ever had a Reiki session and wondered how you could learn this wonderful healing art form? Do you feel a calling to help others with their healing journey? Reiki is a Japanese healing technique that involves the transfer of positive energy from the practitioner's hands to the client's body. If you have an interest in learning Reiki, it's important to understand the different levels of Usui Reiki and the process for becoming a Reiki practitioner. In this blog post, we’ll explore the different levels of Usui Reiki, and what it means to become a Reiki practitioner.

A Typical Process

The process for learning Reiki varies depending on the teacher and the level. Generally, a Reiki course includes a mixture of theory and practical sessions. It is important to choose a qualified teacher who has been trained in Usui Reiki and is committed to practicing Reiki. Practitioners are encouraged to practice Reiki on themselves and others regularly to develop their skills and increase their understanding of Reiki. Here's a breakdown of what you can expect when learning Reiki.

  1. Finding a Reiki teacher - The first step in learning Reiki is finding a qualified Reiki teacher or practitioner who can guide you on your journey. You can search for local Reiki training classes online or ask for recommendations from friends or family members who have experience with Reiki.

  2. Reiki classes - Reiki classes typically take place over the course of one or more days, depending on the level of training. During these classes, you will learn the history and principles of Reiki, as well as techniques for channeling Reiki energy and working with clients.

  3. Attunements - In each level of Reiki training, you will receive an attunement ceremony, which helps to open the energy channels in your body and connect you to the Reiki energy. Attunements are typically done in a group setting and involve a series of rituals and symbols.

  4. Practice - To become proficient in Reiki, you will need to practice regularly on yourself and others. Many Reiki teachers recommend practicing at least once a day for 21 days after receiving an attunement to help solidify the connection to the Reiki energy.

  5. Continuing education - Even after completing your Reiki training, it's important to continue learning and growing as a healer. Many Reiki teachers offer advanced training classes, as well as opportunities for ongoing mentorship and support.

Reiki Levels

There are typically three levels, or degrees, of Usui Reiki training, each one building upon the previous one to deepen the practitioner's understanding and ability to work with Reiki energy.

Level I - The Beginning

Level I is the first step in learning Usui Reiki. During this level, practitioners are introduced to the history, principles, and basic techniques of Reiki. The focus is on self-healing on a more physical level and learning how to channel the Reiki energy to oneself and others. At this level, practitioners are taught how to perform a Reiki session, including hand positions, and how to use Reiki for specific conditions such as anxiety, stress, and pain.

Level II - The Practitioner

After completing Level I, practitioners can move on to Level II. This level involves a deeper understanding of the Reiki symbols and how to use them for distant healing. Practitioners are taught how to use the symbols to send Reiki energy to people, situations, and locations that are not physically present. They also learn how to use Reiki for emotional and mental healing and how to use Reiki in conjunction with other healing modalities.

Level III - The Master

The Master Level is the highest level in Usui Reiki. The spiritual level. The focus of this level is on personal and spiritual growth and becoming a Reiki Master. It involves an in-depth understanding of the Reiki symbols and how to use them for spiritual healing.

Practitioners with desire to teach, will have to go through a 4 level, where they will also be trained how to perform attunements to pass on the Reiki energy to others. It is important to note that becoming a Reiki Master is not about achieving status but rather a commitment to continuing working on oneself and helping others. They also learn advanced techniques for working with Reiki energy, including psychic surgery and working with the chakras.


Each level of Usui Reiki builds upon the previous one, allowing practitioners to deepen their understanding of Reiki energy and its healing properties. The attunement ceremonies in each level help to further open up the energy channels in the body, increasing the practitioner's ability to channel and work with Reiki energy.

Overall, the different levels of Usui Reiki provide practitioners with the tools and knowledge they need to become effective healers. As practitioners progress through the levels, they gain a deeper understanding of the nature of energy and how it can be used to promote healing in the body, mind, and spirit.

Learning Reiki can be a transformative experience that not only helps you to become a skilled healer, but also deepens your connection to the universal life force energy, and self awareness. Whether you're looking to improve your own well-being or help others on their journey towards healing, learning Reiki can be a powerful and transformative experience. By unlocking the power of the universal life force energy, you can tap into your own innate healing abilities and unlock the potential for greater health, happiness, and fulfillment in your life. If you're interested in finding more out about becoming a reiki practitioner and have any questions, please get in touch.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Reiki Journey

Hi guys, This post will be a bit different and much more personal. I will be talking about my personal story with Reiki. I was initiated into Reiki during what was probably in the most uncertain momen


bottom of page